Uncategorized

SHENZHEN-THE CITY WHERE I COME FROM


63dbc1d68020d60a66a389564627f809Image

After listening to this podcast, I feel a little upset. That is not because of someone saying something wrong about my city, it is because of someone who just telling the facts about my city, Shenzhen.

As Mike Daisey said in his monologue, Shenzhen is one of the most well developed cities in China, and with a huge population. I moved to Shenzhen since my high school, and I treat Shenzhen as my second hometown. I am a member of the 14 million people, who are counted as the citizens of Shenzhen. However, people like me usually don’t care about what was happening badly around us, we certainly know these things, but we just ignore them, because they seem nothing to do with our daily life. There are several gates in Shenzhen, which are used to separate the main districts from the factory zones. Most of the citizens live inside of these gates. We consume the products that those people outside those gates provide us; we enjoy the high technology products that those people assembled; we literally live in the same city, but our situations are like heaven and hell.

Every year, thousands of labor force rushes into Shenzhen to find a job in the companies like Foxconn, they know nothing about how the factories like, they just want to get a job in a big city rather than doing farm work in their small villages. They want to change their fates, but seldom make it. After those suicides happened, Foxconn has changed a lot, it even cut down the workload in Shenzhen and transferred to Chengdu, another big city in China, famous for panda. Also, the NEW IPAD was all made there, at least, when I ordered mine, it was shipped from Chengdu, rather than Shenzhen.

There is one sentence Mike Daisey said about the workers in the plant assembling iPads, never touched the products once. I have to say, Apple really do great job on the product security. Because Shenzhen is also famous for bootleg, and no one in Shenzhen can get an iPhone before its releasing date in the U.S. There is an interesting story about me and Apple, when iPhone 4S just released, my relatives in Shenzhen asked me to buy one and take it back when I come back to China, and I made an order online, then I tracked the shipment, yes, it was shipped from Shenzhen, and then, I packed it into my bag and took it all the way back from the U.S to the place where it came from.

12 thoughts on “SHENZHEN-THE CITY WHERE I COME FROM

  1. I had no clue you were from Shenzhen but that is pretty cool.
    You said you were upset about someone merely telling facts about your city, so my question is how different do you think the podcast would be if it actually came from a person who lived in Shenzhen, maybe even at Foxconn rather than Daisey, and do you think the comments he or she made would be negative or positive? I don’t think he meant to offend anyone, I just think he was trying to expose the facts about the situation in Foxconn and how Apple should make it better.

    • Thanks for your comment! I think if the podcast is from a person who lives in Shenzhen, the issue here will not be taken as seriously as it was reported here. Things like this happen in China, because it is the “factory of the world”, if anyone of the company stands out and tell us about the truth in the factory, it will hard to determine positive or negative, because staff in that kind of working condition will be desensitized, the workers there will never know what a normal working condition should be like, and all they can do is to accept the reality.

  2. Thank you for sharing! It’s interesting that many farmers move into the city in hopes of obtaining a better job and a better quality of life. I see this paralleling the “American Dream”. In both instances governmental, social, and economic barriers shut out amble opportunity and the ability to reach this dream.

  3. It is great to get your perspective on Daisey’s story because of your specific relation to Shenzhen! You said in your blog that you know about the things that go on in the factories, but you ignore them because they don’t concern your daily life… Will this change your feelings about ignoring the facts about Foxconn? Do you feel any inclination to get involved in helping some of the workers if you personally know any? Thanks for sharing!!

    • Thanks for your comment! This podcast really makes me think a lot about the people who are working around me, and how they are suffering. People like me, who knows the facts but choose to ignore are in huge number, we want to help, but there is no way. We cannot interfere the operation of the factories,and we cannot stop people from the countryside applying jobs in these factories, and usually, these kind of factories which provided products for oversea companies are protected well by the Chinese government. They seem more like in a separate division out of the normal regulations of the society. If I personally know anyone who wants to work in that place, I will certainly stop him or her doing that, but the population is huge, our power is limited…

      • This reminds me of much of the history of industrial activity in the US and other countries.

        And the internal division is true in other rich countries too. I heard a news story yesterday about the 150 construction workers who die every year in Texas. And yet the people who try to improve worker safety face an uphill battle.

  4. Weichen thank you for sharing with us about your hometown. It was extremely interesting to read your post. Was it upsetting for you to hear Mike Daisey’s commentary about Foxconn? The podcast did not mention anything else about Shenzhen, making it seem like the city only consists of production facilities similar to Foxconn. I would love to hear you describe more about your life in Shenzhen and your encounters with the production world Daisey described.

  5. Thanks for opening up about actually being from the city that Daisey was describing. The fact that your city is separated into these factory zones is so odd to me being from rural New Jersey. I cannot believe that the iPad and other products cannot be allowed into the hands of the Chinese until the Americans are released to. This make me so angry as we seem so elitist. I wish that people could either move up from a job at Foxconn to something greater, rather than leave rural life for something much worse in my opinion. My isn’t worth such suffering.

  6. I am amazed to at the breadth and intensity of security of supply chains to keep the devices out of the local markets. I had never thought of that, but it reflects how even in rapidly developing economies like CHina’s, where the must be lots of “loose ends,” some systems work very,very well. Similarly, in the US, or in other countries, there is always going to be opportunity for the thousands of people in the supply chain to lift a device. And it doesn’t happen (much? at all?).

    However, a system of enforcing global minimal workers’ rights is quite easy to ignore, or to manipulate.

  7. Pingback: Reactions to Blog Post 2 | BGS 8- Thursday Section

  8. Pingback: The Top Attractions of Shenzhen, China | Travel , Booking & Leisure Guide

What do YOU think? Tell us!

