Make Known Unknown (Blog 9)

Are you Yea or Nay for Guantanamo Bay?


For this week’s blog post I chose to write about Guantanamo Bay and whether or not it is justified to lock people up there. I’ve heard about Guantanamo Bay before and what goes on in there, but never did I really know until reading some articles for this week’s blog post. Sure everyone knows it’s where the most terrorists and dangerous people go when the United States catches them, but are all of the people held there really terrorists.
Before this week I always assumed the people who were locked up there were known terrorists and terrible people, but that wasn’t the case after I investigated a little bit. After doing some research, I found that some people who are locked up there, aren’t exactly “terrorists”. By that I mean sure they might actually be, but there is no evidence to prove it, and no real justification for their imprisonment. The United States has been holding people in Guantanamo Bay for years without any justification. Uthman Abdul Rahim Mohammed Uthman is a Yemeni who was held in Guantanamo Bay for 8 years before questions were raised about his imprisonment. Uthman was accused by two US administrators for being an Al-Qaeda fighter, but no evidence was ever given to support the case for his imprisonment.
The question I raise is, considering we deem ourselves “ The Land of the Free”, why are we locking people up with no real charges against them? Don’t get me wrong I am all for putting away terrorists and all the sick people out there in the world, but I’m not for doing it unjustly. What if some of the people in Guantanamo Bay that have just been sitting there without any sentence or real reason of imprisonment aren’t really terrorists? What is they are just average people who have been thrown in jail because of where they come, what they look like, and simply minded accusations? These people that are just rotting away because they were accused of being terrorists just doesn’t sit right with me, because what if that were me? What if I went to a foreign country and was accused of being a terrorist and was thrown in jail with no real proof—there go all my rights and my livelihood. I’d be stuck there for the rest of my life with no way of getting out, probably getting tortured for something I never did but was thought to be associated with.
Some people argue that Guantanamo Bay is just (and I’m not picking sides) because although we may not have solid proof, they can still be a terrorist and if we don’t keep them locked up, then they may do something bad. Some people don’t care if there is proof, as long as the “bad guy” was put away. Others say that it’s not just because of the reasons I brought up above. The point I wanted to make in this blog post was not that Guantanamo Bay should be banished or that it’s wrong, but that the way we go about it is all wrong. As a country that was founded on the basis of equality, independence, and rights for all, it just seems a little hypocritical to me, no matter who we decide to throw in there.

3 thoughts on “Are you Yea or Nay for Guantanamo Bay?

  1. Obama tried to close Guantanamo and move the prisoners there to US-based facilities. I can’t recall why it fell apart, but i have a feeling it was congress freaking out.

    He ran in 2008 on closing it for many of the reasons you state. It is extra-judicial; it’s very presence undermines our claims to lawfulness and transparency.

What do YOU think? Tell us!

