TED Talk (Blog 10)

Fake it Till You Become it


We have all heard the saying “fake it till you make it.” However, Amy Cuddy takes this saying one step further changing it to, “Don’t fake it till you make it. Fake it till you become it.”

Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you feel small and your body language depicts just that with the slumped shoulders? In her Ted Talk, “Your Body Language shapes who you are, “ Amy Cuddy stresses the importance of your body language. We as people have a tendency to focus on the body language of others and how they judge us. However, Amy suggests turning the camera around and focusing on how our body language makes us feel.

Amy introduces the “power pose,” which consists of striking a powerful and expansive pose that can affect testosterone and cortisol levels in the brain. She conducted a study that showed merely practicing a “power pose” for a few minutes in private leads to higher levels of testosterone and lower levels of the stress hormone, cortisol. Due to these physiological changes in the brain studies show better performance and more confidence.

10:30-12:30

In the video demonstrates the experiment Amy conducted in regard of high-power poses verses low-power poses by individuals before entering a mock interview. In addition, she discusses the results from the experiment.

body-language-power-poses copy

Source 

“Our bodies change our mind, and our minds can change our behavior, and our behavior can change our outcomes.”

7 thoughts on “Fake it Till You Become it

  1. That is so cool. I did not know the way you stand can influence the way you feel. Also I definitely think that the high power stances are more masculine, especially the sitting down positions. If a woman was sitting like that it would seem almost inappropriate (especially in a business skirt). I find myself sitting cross legged with my hand on my neck quite often, maybe I should change that!

  2. My coach always says “fake it till you make it” to me when I’m thrown into a position I don’t normally play. I thought this was a really interesting TED talk. I often times think about how my body language appears in public. I didn’t realize that the first sitting position on the chart was considered a power pose. If I’m sitting like that, it’s usually because I’m tired and I immediately switch how I’m sitting once I realize how un-lady-like it is.

  3. This is really interesting! We usually only hear about how our body language affects other people’s perceptions of us, but I’ve never thought about how it can affect how we feel about ourselves.

  4. Really funny that you picked this TED talk, my mom saw this a few months ago and couldn’t stop talking about it for a while. I definitely think there is some truth to this, as I have heard many people say “at least look like you know what your doing” which is similar to what Cuddy is saying.

    This shows that body language really can go a long way in not only affecting ourselves, but others personal opinions on us.

What do YOU think? Tell us!

