Storytime (blog 11)

A Story Inside Gitmo


For this week’s blog I revisited my blog about Guantanamo Bay. For my blog I have decided to write a short story in the eyes of a possible guard and detainees.

I’ve been in Guantanamo Bay for about 6 years now. You’d think I’d have a trial by now to prove I’m not a terrorist but no I haven’t. I have no rights, none of us do. America has this thing called habeas corpus that they are supposed to give to everyone you know that gives a person the right to a hearing or trial—funny story about that, none of us detainees have it. What’s even funnier is that they think I’m a terrorist. I get it maybe I’m from Iraq and seem to fit the part, but really I just caught up in a bad time. Seriously I own a bakery shop and make bread. I know what you’re all thinking…sure this guys a bakery man, good cover up, what else is in the back of your shop, bombs and guns you give to fellow al-Qaeda members? But you got it all wrong. My brother was a part of al-Qaeda, and because he’d often come to the shop the beloved United States assumed I had to be one also because I was always in contact with my brother. I don’t think he’s a good man, but he’s locked up somewhere in some high facility prison somewhere in the world. Truthfully I’m jealous of him. Maybe he’s locked in jail, but hey at least he was guilty. I’m stuck over here, an innocent man, with no rights and I get treated terribly every single day. I barely get food, but I guess I can’t complain I got plenty of water when I was water boarded yesterday when military men came in looking for answers. I’m sorry I don’t know who my brother was involved with or who they are, but if you want to know how to make some fresh dough I can teach you. Seriously as much as I may not have liked the United States before, at least I thought they were a fair country. What happened to freedom to all and “innocent until proven guilty”? Yeah like that exists. Please just give me a hearing and let me go.

I’ve been patrolling here at Gitmo for almost 5 years now. I’ve seen a lot go on, mostly terrible but also some very necessary things. Many people mention torture and that America is terrible for doing it. I can’t deny that there haven’t been cases where extreme action was taken to get answers, but sometimes I saw it necessary. As a serviceman to the United States army, I understand the need to get answers to put people to justice and stop terrorism. I also know that some of the people in which these extreme actions were brought upon, were in fact terrorists. I know this because we have gotten answers, one that have lead us closer to finding more and more terrorists and al-Qaeda members. The sad part about this job is that I’ve also seen the opposite happen. I know many of the people here are terrible people involved in some terrible groups, but some are just in a bad situation and were caught in the wrong moment or place, and were brought here under false assumptions. I’m not involved much in the decisions, but I have overheard discussions and there are some people here that haven’t been tried because America knows we have no evidence on them. There are some people you know should be released as they pose no danger, but the United States won’t release them in fears that they may actually be terrorists. There’s this one guy here, he’s been here since before I got here, and there’s just something about him that makes him seem innocent. I don’t know but it saddens my heart with people like him that I do believe they are innocent, but there’s really know where for them to go.

Don’t even know what to say about a place like this. America the free, yeah right. And you wonder why I hate this country and why we do what we do to these people. Everything my countries done been justified. We aren’t radicals, what we do is what we believe and we believe what we do is right. I don’t care what anyone else thinks, I believe it’s all right. What I also believe is right is for this damn country to let me out of here. Honestly they won’t even try me for some dumb reason that I’m a suspected terrorist and if they let me go I’d be bad because I’m a national threat. That’s bologna if they have nothing on me that’s their problem not mine. Saying I hate America isn’t enough—even if it may be true.

3 thoughts on “A Story Inside Gitmo

  1. An interesting analysis. Writing behind the bars of prison has led to some of the more famous pieces of literature of our time. Martin Luther King Jr. and Nelson Mandela wrote some of their most famous work in jail.

  2. I like how you address both viewpoints. You can maybe adjust formatting to make it clearer. Or, have the two of them looking at the same moment, but from opposite perspectives.

    I liked how much detail you packed in.

    I gave it a high rating. Who are the haters out there?

What do YOU think? Tell us!

