Storytime (blog 11)

Dear Diary: I live in a food desert!


November 19, 2013

Dear Diary, 

 Apparently I live in a “food desert”.  This is news to me; what does that even mean?  While scanning through the TV channels after school today a PBS news hour report came on and I only stopped because my town in Mississippi was mentioned.  I never thought of myself as obese or suffering from malnutrition, but according to the news anchor this was true.  I pretty much look like everyone else in my school and town.  While some are thinner or larger, I don’t really stand out.  I eat a pop tart for breakfast, whatever the cafeteria provides at lunch, a gas station snack after school, and something microwavable for dinner.  Never once have I thought twice about the way I eat or how it could be helping or harming me.  I’ve lived my entire life in this town and I don’t know anything else.  The news anchor stated that many in my town are not ingesting the right kinds of food that enable my body to function properly.  This frightens me because what options do I have.  I’m in the third grade, can’t drive, and have no money!

 

I started thinking more about food access and availability and how I eat.  I rarely plan out what I eat because on a day to day basis and I take what I can get.  Is there really anything wrong with getting food at a convenience store, McDonald’s, or gas station?  When these are the only places that I have access to how do I change my eating habits.  There are no farms where I live that grow anything but commodity crops that are shipped out of state and sold.  Neither my mother nor my school taught me how to cook, or what to eat.  Even if I were to try to change what I eat I would have to go to extreme ends, walking for miles or planting my own garden to succeed.  I can’t help but feel bad for myself, and wonder, why?  What could I have been like given proper nutrition and health education.  Is there any hope for my town?  While it’s easy to be pessimistic about my health and my future Mrs. Obama’s efforts to eliminate food deserts in the United States encourages me and brings me hope.  While I can’t count on a healthy grocery store opening up down the block anytime soon, at least now I know that our first lady prioritizes health and that organizations are working to make sure one’s zip code does not define access to nutritious food.  Hey, maybe I’ll try to plant some vegetables next spring, or ask mom to help me save up gas money to make a trip to the grocery store.  While it makes me sad that I’ve been living my life largely unaware of my unhealthy and potentially deadly eating habits, at least the program opened my eyes to the current inhabitance in a food desert.

Sincerely, 

 mt 🙂

5 thoughts on “Dear Diary: I live in a food desert!

  1. I really enjoyed how your storytime post was in the form of a diary entry. It made it really interesting to read. It’s really unfortunate that food deserts exist in the United States and there are individuals who do not have regular access to nutritious food. I hope the efforts to get rid of food deserts are carried out at some point in the near future.

  2. Very creative – I enjoyed how your wrote your post as an entry to your diary and from the perspective of a child. I feel that most of the time when we talk about food deserts, we think of the parents and their choices and ability – but not how children understand the concept.

  3. I am sure that I am in the food desert right now… since I am not really adapt with American food, and as a result, I bought lots of Aisan snacks and instant noodles online. They are not fresh food at all, and not healthy at all… However, I feel like it is the best choice to avoid hunger right now…

  4. It is sad that people who are already discriminated against racially politically and economically now have to face getting access to healthy foods. I think that access to healthy food is a given right and be given to all human beings.

  5. Hard for me to imagine a third grader having that kind of internal monologue.

    Great topic, of course. Not to mention the reality of very cheap access to TV AND cheap calories for many Americans. Sometimes this is used to show that they make poor choices about food and consumption. They aren’t needy, they have TVs. But TV’s fall in price faster than nutritious food.

What do YOU think? Tell us!

